Sweet peroshki

A few days ago I had an opportunity to make sweet peroshki. At least my family always called them peroshki and we always stuffed them with something sweet such as a fruit preserve, sweetened cottage cheese or sweetened poppy seeds. I love the way my mom makes them because she always makes sure that the dough itself is sweet as well not just the filling. So here for you is the recipe. I hope you enjoy making them. It takes a little bit of time and patience, but they are not impossible. A great appliance to use to mix the dough is a bread maker on the dough setting. Of course you can always make the dough with your hands.

Into the bread maker:

1 Cup of milk (slightly warm)

1 Egg

1 Tbs melted butter

1/2 Cup sugar (That’s what makes the dough so sweet. If you wan to fill the dough with meat or veggies just subtract the sugar.)

2 Tbs sour cream (very important to make the dough light and fluffy)

Pinch of salt

3 1/4 Cups flour

2 Tbs of yeast

Once the dough starts coming together drizzle just about a teaspoon or two of a cooking oil. It helps the dough come together better. Keep an eye on the dough to make sure its not too wet and sticky or too dry. If sticky add some flour, if dry add a little milk.

Once the dough is done in the bread maker, take it out on a floured surface. Flour your hands to work with the dough. Divide the dough into small pieces and get ready to fill them. Make sure the pieces are small because the dough will have time to rise before baking and the peroshki themselves may become bigger than you intended.

Take each piece of dough into the palm of your hand and just stretch it out to desired circular size. If you want you can also stretch it out on your floured surface. Then place your filling in the center. Make sure whatever you are placing inside is at room temperature. If you are making 4 inch diameter circle, then a tablespoon of the filling should be enough. Remember that you still need to be able to close it up.

Place your peroshki on baking sheets. I line my baking sheets with aluminum foil, because it is super easy to clean up afterward in case any preserve has leaked out.

Cover the peroshki and let sit for about 45 minutes to an hour. The dough needs time to rise and become plump.The first time I made these I didn’t know that and threw them in the over right away. The peroshki came out small and not fluffy at all…not so great.

To make the peroshki shiny and appealing to the eye make an egg wash of one egg and a splash of water. Mix it up and spread on top of the peroshki with a kitchen brush.

Place in a preheated oven at 350 degrees. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or untill the peroshki turn a nice golden color.

Before

 

After

ENJOY!

 

Please let me know if you bake these. I would also love to hear of any variations on this recipe.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Viktoriya
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 13:12:54

    What kind of filling did you use?

    Reply

    • Kristina
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 12:52:51

      Oh my! Did I not list it in the ingredients? I used either strawberry preserves or apricot preserves. Those two fillings are my favorite. I have not yet ventured out to use poppy seeds but I love how my grandma and mother in law make the poppy seed filling.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Trying to keep up « Let's make some Russian food
  3. NatashasKitchen.com
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 21:32:06

    I’ve always fried mine, but these look so yummy! Makes me crave piroshki. I think I’ll make some tomorrow.

    Reply

  4. tanya titarenko
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 21:31:13

    oh my gosh kristina I love this!! Your blog what a great idea russian recipes in english!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

