Learning to sew all over again…

Back when I was just a freshman in high school I took a class that changed my life. It was a sewing/fashion class. I learned to sew and in the process was introduced to fashion and design.That led me to interior design, and what I studied in college and what is now my career. I love designing and creating. Since I’m taking a break from interior design ( 😦 the economy ) I have a little more time to do other things such as cooking and now sewing!

I was very excited when this year for my birthday my mom got me a sewing machine. I thought I’m gonna sew everything! Well not exactly…It took me a few weeks to finally get it out of the box and get going. I read the manual and watched the dvd. I haven’t touched a sewing machine in a few years and we had to get reacquainted. What can I sew? A dress! Probably not. Shorten and hem some jeans? Although I really should since I’m too short and keep buying jeans that are too long…not yet. I started out with something I actually needed, new pillow cases for the couch pillows! I had a bunch of this beautiful and durable fabric samples left from my days as an interior designer and they would work perfectly. As I pinned my fabric together, set up the sewing machine and got started I realized it’s just like riding a bike, you never really forget how to do it.

My final product!

I have more of this fabric left and I don’t need anymore pillow cases, any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

