Oh crepe!

Here is a crepe recipe. It is actually a combination of my moms recipe and my own. We called them nalesniki. It can be stuffed with jams, and preserves, cream cheese mixutre, cottage cheese mixture or meat. The recipe I’m posting is delicious and it’s really sweet. I like the crepe to be so sweet that I don’t need to add anything else to it. If you don’t like it sweet just don’t add the sugar or add less of it.

1/2 Cup milk

1/2 Cup water

1 Egg

Pinch of salt

1/2 cup sugar

1 Cup flour

1 Tbs melted butter (or 1/4 cup oil)

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix wet ingredients in a different bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir untill completely combined.

If you have a nonstick skillet you will need to melt just a tablespoon of butter on medium high heat to get started. If you don’t then you will have to grease the skillet after every crepe. My mom actually lightly brushes some oil on the skillet and it works great for her.

Once the skillet is heated, pour about 1/4 cup of the crepe mixture into the skillet and kind of roll the mixture around untill it completely coats the inside bottom of the skillet.

Once the outside of the crepe starts to turn golden brown it’s time to turn it over. It should lift off pretty easy. Use a spatula and your fingers. Of course the first one doesn’t always turn out perfect.

For some reason the first one was always the most delicious and wanted by all the kids in my family. My mom would  make the first one and it would be torn and crinkled up and my sisters and brother would just tear it up and put our piece in our mouth right away. The second one and the rest just never tasted the same after this first one. I still feel this way when I make my own.

Well soon enough the crepe turns out perfect! They brown up really quickly in the skillet so keep your eye on it so it doesn’t burn down.

I recently enjoyed the best peanut butter and jelly pancakes and decided that I will make peanut butter and jelly crepes! I just love the combination of sweet and salty. Just spread some peanut butter on the inside of the crepe, fold in half and then in half once more, and top with some syrup or fruit preserve, whatever you have.

Soooo good!

Before...

After...

Leave a Reply

