Oh Borscht!

It’s finally that time. Time for recipe for Borscht. Borscht is probably the most well-known Russian/Ukrainian food. It is a red beet soup and sooooo delicious. I would have to say Borscht is one of my favorite foods. I confess though I have only tried my mom’s borscht, my own and my friends Alena’s borscht. I just feel that it’s a very personal type of soup and everyone makes it a little differently, and I’m really picky about the food I eat and how it’s prepared. I will add that my mom and Alena make really good borscht.

I have a really simple recipe with real simple ingredients. There is one problem with this recipe. It will make 6-8 servings. If you want less I would suggest cutting the recipe in half. My mom is the one that taught me to make it and she has to cook for a family of 6. She can never really give me the exact amount that I will need of any ingredient. She just says “na glaz”, meaning “just eyeball it”. Even though I’ve included the amount you may need of each ingredient for the soup, use as much or as little of each ingredient as you would like. I just give you the approximate amount you may need for a large pot of Borscht. Leftover, day-old borscht is the best anyway!

Ingredients:

8-9 Cups of water

Meat (bone in chicken breast, stew beef, or riblets)

1/2 Large onion

3 Small red beets

5-6 Small potatoes

3 medium carrots

1 Head of cabbage

3 Tbs Vegeta seasoning

Salt and pepper to taste

Squirt of ketchup (about 2 tbs)

In a large pot heat water until it boils. If you would like add chicken broth or beef broth to the water and then just use less vegeta seasoning. Once water is boiling place meat in the water and simmer untill meat is tender.

Chop up beets and carrots into thin matchstick slices.

Chop onion

Once the meat is tender place the beets into the pot and continue simmering untill beets are slightly tender.

Remove the skin from the potatoes and cut into small 2×2 in pieces.

Place onion, carrots and potatoes into the pot.

Chop the cabbage thinly so it resembles long thin strips.

Place into the pot when the potatoes are almost cooked all the way through. If you would like to use the beet greens just chop them up like the cabbage and place into the pot as well. Season with salt, pepper and vegeta. Taste the broth to make sure it the desired saltness and flavor. When the borscht is almost ready to be served just squirt some ketchup and blend it in. You don’t have to use it but it just gives it a little bit more flavor.

The borscht may not be beet red, it could be a little orange or red orange. Serve in a bowl with some homemade bread. You can also place a dollop of sour cream or mayonnaise in the middle, it will just add more to the flavor. You can also make a vegetarian version just by omitting the meat.

I love Borscht!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Let's make some Russian food
  2. Trackback: Easy chicken and rice soup « Let's make some Russian food

Leave a Reply

