Easy chicken and rice soup

This soup is unbelievably easy, anyone can make it. I’m not sure where it originated but I got this recipe from my mom. It uses all the typical Russian ingredients, onion, carrots, potatoes. I also love this soup recipe because you can add your own ingredients and your own spices to it and it can become a completely different soup.

I have to warn you, like with my previous soup recipe the amount of each ingredient is pretty much up to you. It all depends on how much you are making and how much you like carrots and onions. This recipe is for a medium size pot of soup, about 5-6 servings. This is what you will need:

1/2 medium  onion

3 small carrots

3/4 cups rice

5 small potatos

1-2 bone in chicken breasts

2 tbsp vegeta

salt and pepper

Fill up the your pot with water almost to the top and heat until boiling. Once water boils place chicken breast into the pot and cook until no longer pink and cooked through. This will create a nice chicken broth for you and will be the base for your soup. While the chicken is cooking you will notice a sort of froth collecting on top, just clean it up by lifting it with a spoon.When the chicken is done cooking you may also add vegeta and salt and pepper to taste.

I use my handy-dandy electric food chopper and chop up the carrots and onions. Don’t have a chopper? Just chop them up by hand to desired size.

Add the onion and carrots.

Peel and chop the potatoes and place inside the water. Cook on medium high heat until the potatoes are almost done. Stir in the rice. Cook for 5 more minutes. Turn off the heat and let soup stand for about 10 minutes or untill the rice is fully cooked.

Personally I like when the rice is over cooked and the kernel splits open. It’s also easier for my son to eat it because it’s softer. Instead of rice you can use noodles and it becomes a great chicken noodle soup. You can place a dollop of sour cream and your favorite fresh herbs and it becomes a delicious tangy soup. Is there anything else you like to add to make it even more delicious?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lena
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 21:04:53

    i made this soup today….its delicious!!!! my mom also gave me the recipe to this soup, its like we’re related or something =)

    Reply

    • Kristina
      Jan 13, 2011 @ 13:37:33

      I know! I just love this soup. Everytime I make it I try to add something different, like tiny pasta instead of rice or flat leaf parsley while cooking and then fresh right before serving.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

