Katleti

Mmmm…I love katleti. You can eat them just by themselves, or with pasta or mashed potatoes or grechnaya kasha or just bread. I love it! A way to describe katleti is they are like Russian meatballs. The recipe I have for you is super easy and most of the ingredients you probably already have. What I think is so great about this recipe is you can put your own twist on it buy just adding your own secret ingredient. I give you just the basics but you can add your own spices or sauces to this recipe and make it your own. Experiment a little!

Ingredients:

1lb Ground Turkey, ground pork or veal, or half turkey half other ground meat.

1/2 Cup milk

1 Cup bread crumbs

1 Small onion grated or finely chopped

2 Cloves garlic grated

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 Egg

2 Tbsp oil for frying

Place bread crumbs into a bowl and pour in milk and let it soak. If you don’t have bread crumbs you can just use bread that you have. Just break it up and soak it in the milk. Soak for about 15 minutes. Just make sure the bread crumbs are soaked through and no longer crunchy. You can also add a few tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce, it will give the katleti a nice smokey flavor.

Take the soaked bread crumbs and squeeze out the milk. What you have now are just the bread crumbs in the bowl.

Place the rest of the ingredients into the bowl and slowly fold them in.

Heat 2 tbsp oil in a large skillet. Using your hands take about 3-4 tablespoons of the meat mixture and form a small ball. Then press in between your palms so it is about 1/2 inch thick. Place into the skillet and lower the heat to medium low. Continue making the katleti untill the skillet it full. For me it was about four katletki.

Fry each side about 6-10 minutes.

I always like to open up one of the katleti and make sure it’s no longer pink inside. I always try a bite as well, to make sure the seasoning is just right. If I need to add something I can to it now before I fry up the rest of the meat mixture. Continue until all the meat is gone.

Eat them up just as they are or serve them with pasta, mashed potatoes or grechnaya kasha. I made pasta and let me tell you, my little one ate it up, and he’s usually very picky about eating meat. It’s soooo good!

Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Viktoriya
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 16:36:45

    Hey Kristina, love your recipes! They are super easy to make and are delicious! Do you know how to make holodes? Ive been wanting to do it for a while but dont know where to start lol

    Reply

    • Viktoriya
      Jan 21, 2011 @ 16:39:02

      Oh and I also thought of sirniki and chibureki? đŸ™‚

      Reply

      • Kristina
        Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:30:49

        I love chibureki! I am just starting out on this whole Russian food making so I have never made either of those but have enjoyed them. I have a great cook book on traditional russian cooking. There are recipes for both of those. I will get on that and attempt making them. Thanks for the idea!

    • Kristina
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:28:59

      I personally have never made holodes because I just don’t like it. I don’t like jello and holodes really reminds me of it except it’s salty instead of sweet. However, my mother inlaw is well known to make great holodes. I will ask for her recipe and post it as soon as I can. You can make it and tell me how it was!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

