Plov

Plov is a very traditional dish in the Russian/ Ukrainian community. It is also a very common dish to be prepared for any gathering that requires food. Although it is common there is no real “common” typical recipe. I have tried plov prepared in multiple different ways. It seems as though each family has their own way of preparing this rice and meat dish. I have a recipe that is simple to make with ingredients you probably already have in your kitchen. It is simple and easy to make yet still has the  flavors and smells of traditional plov. You can make it in less than an hour and feed a large family. Honestly I don’t think I even know how to cook for just two people. All my recipe’s seem to have 4+ servings. Thanks to my mom who has always cooked for a large crowd and the “na glaz” (eyeball it) method of cooking I always have leftovers. I’m glad my family lives a couple miles from me and I get to share with them.

Ingredients:

1 Small onion

2 Garlic cloves (add 1-2 more for more garlic flavor)

3 Small carrots

2 Cups white rice

3 Chicken breasts

4 Cups water

2 Tsp salt

Pepper to taste

1 Tbsp Vegeta

Squirt of Ketchup

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil on medium high heat, in a large deep skillet or soup pot. I have used both before. The plov will be great in either one.

Cut chicken into bite size pieces and drop into the skillet to brown a little.

While chicken is cooking chop up  the onion, carrots and garlic. I used my handy-dandy food chopper. You chop up by hand or use food processor. Chop the pieces to whatever size you prefer. I like for the carrots to almost disappear into the rice. I either use the electric chopper to chop the carrots into small bits or use a hand grater. A grater is a great tool for the carrots. My mother in law just takes already peeled baby carrots like they sell at the grocery store and just quarters them. You can do that too. Once everything is chopped up,  place the carrots, onion and garlic in with the chicken. Cook until chicken is cooked through and carrots are slightly tender.

Pour the two cups of rice into the skillet and fill with 4 cups of water. Add salt, pepper and vegeta. Get one good squirt of ketchup into the skillet as well. Gently fold the ingredients together. Let the mixture heat to a boil. At this point I like to taste the broth to make sure I don’t need additional vegeta or salt.

Cover, turn down to low heat and let the rice cook for 20-30 minutes. Keep an eye on it and make sure the rice does not over cook. Once the cooking is done just fluff with a fork and serve! It’s great with a side of Olivye or other salad.

Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robert MacDonald
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 11:09:44

    Hi Kristina,

    I love plov, and I like the way you modify food a little with side ingredients.

    We just posted a list of 12 Recommended Russian Cooking blogs, and you are included! Please check it and tell us what you think.

    All the best,

    Rob

    Reply

Leave a Reply

