A Ukrainian/Russian Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving! I love thanksgiving! And with all the difficulties we may be facing, so much to be thankful for. What a great excuse to throw a party. I was fortunate enough  to attend TWO Thanksgiving get-togethers! We had turkey for lunch with my in-laws and turkey for dinner with my dad’s family. It was so great to see all my loved ones together. And the food was amazing!

We all know the traditional thanksgiving food, turkey, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, pumpkin or apple pie, cranberry sauce…etc. When my family celebrates thanksgiving it seems to me they go all out with a Russian wedding menu! I know some of you know exactly what I am talking about and those of you who don’t, one day I will have to blog about the Sacramento area Russian wedding menu. For now you will have just a glimpse of it.

My Thanksgiving Lunch at my in-laws:

Turkey of course!

Vinaigrette salad.

Layered garden salad.

Smoked salmon with olives.

For desert pechenye rozachki (Rose cookies). They are amazing! I have the recipe and soon so will you.

Store bought baklava.

Of course I brought along my pumpkin cheesecake.

It was so wonderful to spend lunchtime with family and enjoy all this food.

Then there was dinner with my dad’s family. There were almost 30 people at my parents home and it was a potluck style meal. I have to warn you. Viewing of the food may cause hunger pains and the urge to cook, bake or eat thanksgiving leftovers.

Goluptsi or golupchiki.

Cabage wraps.

Recipe coming soon.

 

Oliviye.

My favorite!

 

 

Lightly marinated fresh cucumbers.

 

 

 

Red beet salad

 

 

 

The very popular, found at every Russian party

Shuba. A complex, many layered side dish.  It may

take some time before I try to tackle this one.

 

Mashed potatoes with podliva.

 

 

 

Other appatizers and side dishes


Two small hens and a turkey! We eat so much meat!

 

And my favorite part…the desert! I think I ate more desert than the actual meal.

The ultra popular “Vafly”. They are these super light thin wafers with cooked condensed milk (caramel) in-between to create layers. I love to eat these.

This is my mothers creation. Perog. It has the dough of piroshki with cheesecake filling and fruit preserves all layered and baked. It is amazing! I can’t wait to make it and post the recipe.

My aunt Alla’s piroshki. She makes the best. All different fillings and sooo yumy!

My aunt Lyuba’s Fried dough and cheese fritters. I need to get my hands on this recipe!

 

The deserts were enjoyed with a large cup of tea of course. We love out tea!

We even had blooming tea!

 

Food was great and so was the company. So much to be thankful for.

 

 

 



 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NatashasKitchen.com
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 17:30:05

    I agree, so much to be thankful for. We eat like kings don’t we?? 🙂 Your Thanksgiving dinner looks awesome and makes me hungry …. and I just ate! I enjoy reading your posts. You’re doing a great job here.

    Reply

    • Kristina
      Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:53:45

      Well thank you so much Natasha. I’m glad I made you hungry. What more can I ask for? Lol. Thanks for coming back to my page and reading my posts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

