Tuscan Pasta and Bean Soup


As you can probably tell from the name it is NOT a Russian or Ukrainian soup. It IS however absolutely delicious. My cousin found it from an iPhone App and liked it so much she shared it with me (thanks Tanya), and now I’m sharing it with you. I love this recipe because it’s very simple and easy to make. The ingredients are probably already in your pantry. I love that!

This is what you will need:

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Small onion (chopped)

1( 28 oz) diced tomatoes w/roasted garlic

2 Can chicken broth (I used one 32 oz carton instead)

1 Can kidney or pinto beans (undrained)

2 Tsp dried basil(crushed)

2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley

1/4 Tsp pepper

1/2 Cup dried small pasta shells.

 

Directions:

Heat the oil in large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook 2 to 3 minutes or until tender.

Stir in tomatoes, chicken broth, beans, 1/3 cup water, basil, parsley and pepper. Bring to boil.
Add pasta; reduce heat to low. Cook stirring occasionally, 12 to 15 min or until pasta is tender.
This makes 6 servings.

This is a very delicious soup. And it’s vegetarian (you can substitute vegetable broth for chicken broth). My husband is a serious carnivore and even he ate it. And my toddler loved it as well. I win!

If you want to add some meat to this soup I would recommend bone in chicken breast and then just split up the meat for each serving or brown some ground turkey in the oil, add the onion and continue with the directions. I think the ground turkey will add great flavor.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

