Pechivo Troyandiy (Ukrainian Rose Cookies)

These cookies look beautiful and taste delicious. I loved it when my mom made them when I was little and I love it when my mother in law makes them now. Of course I have two different recipes for these cookies! The authentic Ukrainian recipe calls for “tvorog” (found in Russian stores), but I didn’t have a chance to get tvorog so I used my mother in laws recipe that uses cream cheese. Still taste amazing!

Ingredients:

Dough

8 oz Cream Cheese softened

2 Sticks Butter softened

2 Eggs

2 Cups Flour, more for sprinkling

1/4 tsp baking soda

 

Cream filling

2 Eggs whites

1 Cup sugar

1 Tsp vanilla

1/4 Tsp almond extract (optional, I love almond extract and use it whenever I can)

 

Directions:

Mix together all of the dough ingredients in a large bowl. Roll into a ball. Cover and refrigerate 2-3 hours.

Dough might be sticky just like the photo above shows. That’s okay.

Beat egg whites, sugar, vanilla and almond extract with a blender until soft peaks form and cream looks glossy. Cover and refrigerate until the dough is ready to be removed from refrigerator.

Remove dough and place on a floured surface. Add a little flour to the dough if it’s too sticky. Divide dough in two. Roll 1/2 of dough into rectangle, about 1/8-1/4  inch thick.

Take half of the egg/sugar cream mixture and spread evenly over the dough.

Roll dough into a log, long side. Cut the roll into 1/2 inch thick slices and place on a cookie sheet.

Repeat the same with the other half of the dough and cream.

Here I had some trouble because the cream started melting and did not want to stay in the roll. It looks like a bit of a mess on my cookie sheet. This was my first time ever making them and I know that with practice they will be perfect. Don’t be discouraged if yours are not perfect. They will still taste great. If you have tips on making these look a little better please let me know. (I think my problem was I used too much of the cream.)

Bake in a preheated oven at 350*F. The cookies will turn slightly golden and the cream will be a pinkish color.

Oh they are sooo good. Try them! Enjoy!

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lena
    May 25, 2011 @ 20:06:08

    I just found this recipe on your blog and found it very interesting so I decided to try it. My husband is Ukrainian so I asked him if he ever tasted them and he has never seen anything like it-so I decided to try to make right away since I had all the ingredients. Well I agree that cutting the cookies up and placing them on a sheet is little bit messy. So with the second half of dough I decided to add little bit more flour before rolling it out on foil-then after I covered the dough with cream I rolled it up and put it in the freezer while my first batch was baking. It was much easier to cut the cookies and they came out perfect-not messy at all. And when I got a taste of the first cookie…. I could not believe how good it was. Could not stop eating them. Thanks for the recipe!!

    Reply

    • Kristina
      May 27, 2011 @ 14:19:44

      I’m so glad you tried them and liked them! I like the feezing idea. I asked my mother in law about it being so messy and she said that I need to beat the eggs until they are completely stiff. I’m going to try it and hopefully won’t need the freezing. Thanks for that idea!

      Reply

  2. Liliya
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 22:23:51

    You could try cooling the cream mixture…or putting it in the fridge right after you put the cream on it…and after it’s cool, roll it up into a log and cut. 🙂

    Reply

    • Kristina
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 15:20:50

      Thanks for the advice. I definitely don’t think the cream mixture was cooled enough. And to refrigerate after putting the cream on? I think I will try both of those! Thanks!

      Reply

  3. Lina
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 14:29:41

    How long do you bake them for?

    Reply

    • Kristina
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 15:18:13

      I don’t remember the exact time they were in the oven. It doesn’t take very long at all. I would say keep them in there ten minutes and check on them. Once they are golden brown in color you can take them out and they are done. Oven temperatures vary so make sure they aren’t burnt.

      Reply

  4. Marina
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 00:03:31

    Ok so I made them!! They’re super-good, just like the ones I tried before. The only thing I did differently was roll out the dough much thiner, that way my “rose” had more petals.

    Reply

  5. Marina
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 17:09:38

    I tried this cookie a long tim ago and since then I’ve always wanted to make it. Now seeing your recipe I’m just this much closer to actually making it 🙂 Holiday season is always great for making cookies of all sorts 🙂 Great recipe 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

