I’m Back! …and some birthday cake….

Hi everyone! I have been away for a while but I am back and I have some great recipes coming up. I started a new job and trying to adjust to my new schedule. My goal is to update once a week. I really hope I can stick to that schedule.

For today I want to tell you about my baby boys 2nd birthday. I guess he’s not a baby anymore since he’s 2 years old! I can’t believe it. Time flies! His birthday was February 24th. We decided not to throw a big party but just celebrate with the three of us. I wanted to experiment with marshmallow fondant on his birthday cake. I ended up making such huge cake that I called my family and they came over for some homemade pizza and fondant covered cake!

For my pizza I made the dough in my bread maker according to the bread maker recipe book. I divided the dough into two and made two rectangular pizzas with it. The toppings were whatever I had in the fridge at that time.

Turkey pepperoni pizza

 

 

Breakfast sausage and bell pepper pizza

My son Christian enjoying his slice!

Those two pizzas were perfect for the 8 of us!

And then there’s the cake…

I really didn’t want to spend the time on a homemade cake so I decided on the semi-homemade method. I bought a box of yellow cake mix and German chocolate cake mix. I used apple sauce instead of oil to make it a little healthier and followed the box directions on everything else.

I made homemade frosting to layer between the cake layers. I also used apricot preserve on some of the layers to break up the sweetness with some tartness.

The marshmallow fondant was the most work. I really wanted to make marshmallow fondant because I think it taste really good and so much better than regular fondant. I used a recipe I found online and added blue food coloring for the light and dark blue colors on the cake. I found it difficult to roll out the fondant but that may be my lack of upper body strength. I have never worked with any kind of fondant before but  I think it turned out pretty well.

Happy Birthday Christian!!!

 

I used boxed cake mixes, fondant recipe I found online, and frosting recipe I had in a cook book. If you would like any of the recipes just let me know and I would be happy to post them here for you!

So easy birthday party…sooo good!

Leave a Reply

